Introducing my topic.

Let’s introduce you some more to my topic. I will just do a quick reminder, what is advertising and what is False Advertising. Quick to be easier for you to understand what is the real GOAL of my blog!

Advertising:

“ADVERTISING is mass media content intended to persuade audiences of readers, viewers or listeners to take action on products, services and ideas. The idea is to drive consumer behaviour in a particular way in regard to a product, service or concept.” (Curtis, 2013)

This was a quick quote from the article of Curtis, which explains quickly what is advertising.

False Advertising: 

“Deceptive advertising, also known as false advertising, refers to a manufacturer’s use of confusing, misleading, or blatantly untrue statements when promoting a product.” (Laws.com, 2013)

And this was a little quote to remind you what is false advertising. As it is important for you to know the meaning of false advertising as my entire blog will be about it. I hope this definition helps you to understand the meaning of False Advertising. And I’m sure when you will discover my whole blog you will quickly realize that False Advertising are everywhere around us.

Here is an image of False Advertising. As you can see on this image there is on the right the advertisement, which looks good and when seeing that you just want to eat it. On the left is what you have in reality in front of you. As you can see it is completely different to what you can see on Advertising!! It looks disgusting, NO??? 

Burger%20King%20-%20Whopper%20Ad-Size1[1]

(Ifl-122-advertising.wikispaces.com, 2014)

Are you now able to make the difference between advertising and reality ? (I’m sure you are able to, and of course it is very disappointed).

I came across an article on the Web, which I found very interesting regarding false advertising and once again, tale about false advertising. Just to give you some more information with some sources that I have found on the web.

“What truth-in-advertising rules apply to advertisers?

Under the Federal Trade Commission Act:

  • Advertising must be truthful and non-deceptive;

  • Advertisers must have evidence to back up their claims; and

  • Advertisements cannot be unfair.”  (Business.ftc.gov, 2001)


And actually, I hope that my post will make you realize what advertising wants to do with their “beautiful” images. You have to be careful before buying a product even if it looks “good” on the advertising.

Enjoy reading my blog and I hope to have a lot of comments and personal thoughts regarding to my topic.

Leave a Reply

